Wailers Timeline


Bob Marley & The Wailers

Session date, early 1974

  • Bob Marley, lead vocal
  • Judy Mowatt, harmony vocals
  • Marcia Griffiths, harmony vocals
  • Rita Marley, harmony vocals
  • Carlton "Carly" Barrett, drums
  • Aston "Family Man" Barrett, bass
  • Al Anderson, guitar
  • Bob Marley, guitar
  • Bernard "Touter" Harvey, keyboards
  • David Madden, trumpet
  • Glen DaCosta, tenor saxophone
  • Tommy McCook, tenor saxophone
  • Vin Gordon, trombone
  • Alvin "Seeco" Patterson, percussion

Recorded at Harry J's Studio in Kingston, 16 track
Engineer, Sylvan Morris

According to Aston Barrett, Chris Blackwell objected to some of Bob's
lyrics in the song, so Bob re-recorded the lead vocal (the lyrics are
starkly brutal as they are; it's difficult to imagine how much darker the
removed verse could have been). Overdubs done at Island Basing Street
Studio in London.

You can hear or buy this song on:
Natty Dread (lp)
Natty Dread (cd)

The song sounds best on:
Natty Dread (remaster by Barry Diament; look for his name or Tuff Gong 422-846 204-2) (cd)

Learn more about the album on Discogs
Natty Dread

Return to the Wailers Timeline